Review: Coghlans Waterproof Matches

Image

So time for my first product review! Something I think everybody needs to have, matches! I recently purchased these at a local outdoor recreation store, but I have seen them at mil surplus stores, and I believe also at superstores like Walmart/Target ect. They cost me around $3 for a pack of three boxes, with 40 matches in each one. Weighing in at a measly 9.41 grams per box, I would say it should be easy to find a reason to keep a few boxes of these available in all locations, your BOB, BOV, BOL, everywhere.

They had no problem lighting. I tested five of them right out of the box and they lit up immediately. I then took 5 more and ran them under the faucet, still no problem lighting the first three. So with the final two I had out and had run under the water, i even dampened the lighting area on the box and tried to light them. Took a couple strikes, but still lit.

I did notice they burned very quickly. I am guessing this is due to the wax coating that is on the matches to waterproof them. I do not feel this is a bad thing though, as it also helped produce a pretty good size flame compared to normal match.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

